European Parliament approves new European Commission »GoGetNews News

The European Parliament on November 27 approved the new composition of the European Commission, headed by Ursula von der Leyen. This was reported by the press service of the European Parliament on Twitter.

For a decision in Strasbourg, 461 members of the European Parliament voted, 157 members voted against. The new European Commission will begin work on December 1.

Von der Layen will be the first woman to serve as head of the European Commission. The commission also included a record number of women – 12 out of 27 members. According to von der Leyen, green energy, digitalization, culture and education are among the priorities of the new commission.

Read also: US sanctions may thwart launch of Nord Stream 2

The new roster includes 27 European Commissioners, including Hungary’s representative Oliver Vargeyi as European Commissioner for Neighborhood Policy and Spaniard Josep Borrell, who has been appointed EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *