Nobel Prize in Economics awarded for poverty alleviation »GoGetNews News

Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer for their experimental approach to combating global poverty became Nobel Prize winners in economics.

"A study by the prize winners in economics significantly improved our ability to fight poverty. In only two decades, their new approach has transformed the development of the economy, which is now a broad field for research," the Nobel Prize organizing committee said in a statement.

Read also: EU extended sanctions against Russia for poisoning in Salisbury

Duflo and Banerjee represent the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA), Kremer – Harvard University (USA).

In addition, Esther Duflo 1972 became the second woman and the youngest scientist to receive the Nobel Prize in economics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *